Swedish classic/doom rock masters WITCHCRAFT will release their new album, “Nucleus”, on January 15 via Nuclear Blast. The effort will be made available as a CD, lavish digipak (also as a t-shirt bundle), on vinyl (black, clear, splatter, gold) and as a digital download.

Audio samples of all the songs from “Nucleus” can be streamed in the YouTube clip below.

The follow-up to 2012’s “Legend”, “Nucleus” was produced by vocalist Magnus Pelander, Philip Gabriel Saxin and Anton Sundell, and is described in a press release as a combination of the “rawer side of the older recordings as well as the slightly modern path of the younger past.”

“Nucleus” track listing:

01. Malstroem
02. Theory Of Consequence
03. The Outcast
04. Nucleus
05. An Exorcism Of Doubts
06. The Obsessed
07. To Transcend Bitterness
08. Helpless
09. Breakdown
10. Chasing Rainbows (limited digipak CD and 2LP vinyl bonus track)

The first single from the album, “The Outcast”, was released on December 4 on seven-inch vinyl (black, clear) and as a digital download and is exclusively available via the Nuclear Blast mailorder. The single includes the NIRVANA cover “Even In His Youth”.

WITCHCRAFT recently parted ways with drummer Oscar Johansson and bassist Ola Henriksson and replaced them with Rage Widerberg and Tobias Anger, respectively.

WITCHCRAFT, who formed in 2000 in tribute to band heroes Roky Erickson and Bobby Liebling (PENTAGRAM), create heavy, blues-based rock augmented with touches of psychedelica and late ’60s pop flourishes. The quartet’s first-class songs reference the darker side of hard rock while remaining surprisingly accessible. Flying largely under the radar of the popular music landscape previously, WITCHCRAFT is a hallowed name in underground circles and has found itself championed by a diverse cross-section of distinguished music adherents including American actor Elijah Wood, who publicly called the band “amazing,” and DOWN frontman Philip Anselmo, who in 2009 proudly proclaimed WITCHCRAFT as his “new favorite band.”


Fonte: Blabbermouth.net