METALLICA Bassist Robert Trujillo Talks JACO Documentary – “Jaco Pastorius Gave The Bass A New Voice”

JACO, the full-length documentary film chronicling the life, music and ongoing influence of the mythic electric bass pioneer Jaco Pastorius was via VOD, streaming services, digital download and on DVD and Blu-ray yesterday, November 27. In a new interview with National Public Radio, Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo discusses Pastroius:

Jaco Pastorius gave the bass a new voice. I mean he was very inspired by singers like Frank Sinatra. And in a lot of ways, maybe he wanted to be a singer himself. With the fretless bass, you have a different tone and different sound, a different dynamic to the instrument, so you can really make it sing. I always say that when I first heard ‘Portrait Of Tracy’, it really changed my life, because I didn’t know what kind of instrument it was.”

JACO is produced by Trujillo (bassist: Metallica, Infectious Grooves, Mass Mental) John Pastorius IV, Bob Bobbing, and John Battsek of Passion Pictures (Searching for Sugar Man, Project Nim) and marks the directorial debut of documentary filmmaker Paul Marchand and Stephen Kijak (Scott Walker: 30 Century Man, Cinemania). JACO incorporates interviews with musical visionaries including Sting, Joni Mitchell, Flea, Jerry Jemmott, Bootsy Collins, Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Carlos Santana and others with never-before-seen photos and films from the Pastorius family archive. This extraordinary film reveals the story behind Jaco’s life and music, both as a solo artist and member of Weather Report, the tragic arc of his demise and early death and the enduring influence and inspiration of his artistry and genius.

 JACO had its world premiere earlier this year at Austin’s SxSW Film Conference & Festival, accompanied by a panel discussion featuring filmmakers Trujillo and Marchand as well as longtime Pastorius collaborator Peter Erskine (Weather Report, Word of Mouth) and Executive Producer John Pastorius.

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, released JACO: Original Soundtrack on Friday, November 27th. Order links below.

A single-disc collection of music from the forthcoming documentary film, JACO, the JACO: Original Soundtrack premieres three brand-new recordings including two riveting interpretations of Jaco classics: “Come On Come Over” by Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus) and “Continuum” by Rodrigo y Gabriel; and “Shine,” the new track by Tech N9ne containing a sample of “Kuru,” as recorded by Jaco Pastorius.
Produced by Robert Trujillo and Jaco’s eldest son John Pastorius IV, JACO: Original Soundtrack brings together 16 essential recordings including Jaco Pastorius solo tracks, Weather Report masterpieces and musical collaborations with Joni Mitchell, Ian Hunter, Herbie Hancock and more. The album offers music fans the rare evocative sonic soundscape, “Longing,” featuring Jaco’s daughter Mary Pastorius (vox), Chuck Doom (bass), Robert Thomas, Jr. (hand drums/drum kit) and God (rain/thunder).
Legacy’s JACO: Original Soundtrack includes liner notes on Jaco Pastorius penned by Robert Trujillo and album co-producer Chuck Doom.

JACO: Original Soundtrack tracklisting:

“Come On, Come Over” – Jaco Pastorius
“Continuum” – Jaco Pastorius
“River People” – Weather Report
“Teen Town” – Weather Report
“Portrait Of Tracy” – Jaco Pastorius
“The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines” (Live Version) – Joni Mitchell
“All American Alien Boy” – Ian Hunter
“Liberty City” (with Herbie Hancock) – Jaco Pastorius
“Okonkole Y Trompa” – Jaco Pastorius
“Barbary Coast” – Weather Report
“Crisis” – Jaco Pastorius
“Longing” – Mary Pastorius
“Nineteen Eighty Seven” – †††
“Shine” – Tech N9ne
“Continuum” – Rodrigo y Gabriela
“Come On Come Over” – Mass Mental (featuring Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)

Theatrical trailer: