British/American hard rock legends DEEP PURPLE are setting sail into new waters with their first-ever animated video.

The official clip for “The Surprising”, one of the fan-favorite tracks from the band’s latest album, “inFinite”, takes the viewer on a journey through the magical fifty-year history of the band. With high attention to detail, the animated masterpiece follows the five heroes of our story — Ian Gillan, Ian Paice, Roger Glover, Don Airey and Steve Morse — through a stormy ship cruise full of allusions and sees them riding off into the sunset.

The video, which can be seen below, was directed and illustrated by Matt Rooke, alongside director Peter Rogers, who also produced the video together with Craig Hooper and Collin Games, known from the DEEP PURPLE movie documentary “From Here To inFinite”.

DEEP PURPLE and earMUSIC have also announced the release of the ninety-seven-minute documentary “From Here To inFinite”, which is due out in November. It shows the history and origin of “inFinite” and provides a deep insight into the workings of the band for the first time on Blu-ray.

The Blu-ray further includes two hours of bonus material, including music videos such as “The Surprising”, three previously unreleased live videos (“Time For Bedlam”, “Birds of Prey” and “Smoke On The Water”), all filmed and recorded at Hellfest 2017, as well as in-depth behind-the-scenes footage, movie documentary outtakes, interviews, and an audio commentary by DEEP PURPLE themselves — all previously unreleased.

In conjunction with the release of the Blu-ray, DEEP PURPLE and earMUSIC are also releasing “The inFinite Live Recorings, Pt. 1” on a special three-disc vinyl LP, produced by Bob Ezrin. This was recorded at Hellfest 2017, the biggest metal festival in France and contains a brand new previously unreleased eighty-minute live performance.

“From Here To inFinite” track listing (Blu-ray)

* The Movie – “From Here To inFinite” (97 minutes)

Bonus (132 minutes)

* Audio commentary by DEEP PURPLE
* Live At Hellfest 2017
01. Time For Bedlam
02. Birds Of Prey
03. Smoke On The Water

* Outtakes “From Here To inFinite”
01. Full Interview with Joe Satriani
02. Corky – The Recording Engineer

* Official Music Videos
01. The Surprising
02. Johnny’s Band
03. Johnny’s Band Documentary
04. All I Got Is You

* About “inFinite” – Interviews
01. About the Album
02. Beyond the Album
03. Track by track
04. Rapid Fire interview
05. Behind the Scenes photoshoot

“The inFinite Live Recorings, Pt. 1” track listing (3LP)

Side A

01. Time For Bedlam
02. Fireball
03. Bloodsucker

Side B

01. Strange Kind Of Woman
02. Uncommon Man

Side C

01. The Surprising
02. Lazy

Side D

01. Birds Of Prey
02. Hell To Pay
03. Key Solo

Side E

01. Perfect Strangers
02. Space Truckin’
03. Smoke On The Water

Side F

01. Hush
02. Black Night