STONE SOUR - Straight Outta Burbank EP Details Revealed; “Gimme Shelter” Cover Featuring HALESTORM’s Lzzy Hale Streaming

Stone Sour are set to celebrate Black Friday’s Record Store Day with an all-new EP gathering together five cover versions. Straight Outta Burbank will be available at selected record stores as a coloured vinyl-only exclusive on Friday, November 27th.

Straight Outta Burbank sees Stone Sour take on five immortal tracks originally performed by iconic artists, Bad Brains, Iron Maiden, The Rolling Stones, Mötley Crüe and Slayer (tracklisting below). The Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter” features distinctive guest vocals from Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale and is streaming below.

Frontman Corey Taylor elaborates, “I love Straight Outta Burbank because it’s a little bit further out there than Meanwhile In Burbank… The first EP was a little closer together style-wise. This one hits a few different corners: got Bad Brains on one end and the Stones on the other, with Crue, Slayer and Maiden in between… and the crazy thing is it all WORKS. I think that’s a reflection of us as a band – we do what we want, style-wise and it WORKS. I hope people enjoy the spirit, music and fun that went into this.”

“To stay true to the original recordings of these songs, we tried to recreate the sounds and tones that the original artist used,” adds guitarist Josh Rand. “This was both fun and challenging, but the end result was worth all the hard work everyone put in. I feel that with the diversity of the songs that the band has covered, it will definitely impact us on the next Stone Sour release, but until then we hope you enjoy Straight Outta Burbank.”

Straight Outta Burbank marks the a second instalment of Stone Sour’s ‘Burbank…’ covers EPs. The release arrives in the wake of their Record Store Day exclusive EP earlier this year, Meanwhile In Burbank… which collected together covers of luminaries such as Black Sabbath, Metallica, KISS, Judas Priest, and Alice In Chains.


“Sailin’ On”
“Running Free”
“Gimme Shelter” (feat. Lzzy Hale)
“Too Fast For Love”
“Seasons In The Abyss”