Mexico’s LUCIFERIAN RITES To Release When The Light Dies In May

Always on the hunt for the best in the black metal underground, Moribund Records is presenting Luciferian Rites’ debut for the label, When The Light Dies, set for release on May 12th.

An otherwise-undiscovered gem in the darkest BM underground, Luciferian Rites hail from Mexico and have one previous full-length (Evangelion Of The Black Misanthropy) to their name. Now, with When the Light Dies, the quartet are prepared to take their freezing-cold attack to wider audiences. Despite their geography, Luciferian Rites here extract the most potent elements of classic Finnish and Polish black metal, distilling each chilling essence into a sorcerous spell that’s as authentic as it comes. And yet the band back up their blasphemous ruminations with an ever-insistent pulse and alternately melancholic/majestic riffing that could’ve come straight from 1995. Bolstered by a production that balances rawness and well-roundedness, When the Light Dies will surely make a rightful name for Luciferian Rites.

A statement from the band reads: “With this second album, Luciferian Rites is based and inspired mainly by those feelings and situations that get us spiritually and physically close to the pessimistic side of life and the human mind. With lyrics about misanthropy, death, depression, and the occult, this production offers a very orthodox approach to black metal. The album reflects the progress of the band, with a more mature composition and a sound that’s paving the way to make a name for ourselves. With When the Light Dies, we are aiming to get to as many people around the world as possible and to get a place in the black metal netherworld. It is, for us, an honor to be working with Moribund Records, which has supported a lot of bands that have been our influences from one way or another to write our music. It’s also a pleasure being part of the roster of this great label. This deal gives our new material great expectations and it also a big boost to the band’s career. We are very proud of this album, and we hope you enjoy it, as well.”

When The Light Dies tracklisting:

“Eternal Misanthropy Of The Black Cosmos”
“Incinerated Cross”
“Infernal Manifestation”
“When The Light Dies”
“Rotten Creed”
“Conviction Of Nocturnal Raven”
“Garden Of Spirits”
“A Dreadful Chant For Self-Destruction”
“All Your Lies (Diabolical Memories)”
“Ghost In The Shadows”