THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM, the new solo project from CANDLEMASS bassist and songwriter Leif Edling, will release its self-titled debut album on April 7 via Nuclear Blast. The disc will contain eight epic doom tracks with a pinch of NWOBHM and haunting catchy melodies. Joining Edling on the effort are WOLF singer Niklas Stålvind, guitarist Marcus Jidell (AVATARIUM, SOEN, ex-EVERGREY), drummer Andreas “Habo” Johansson (NARNIA), as well as several guest artists.

The third trailer for “The Doomsday Kingdom”, in which Leif discusses how he completed the band’s lineup, is available below.

THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM will make its live debut at the Roadburn festival in April.

“The Doomsday Kingdom” track listing:

01. Silent Kingdom
02. Never Machine
03. A Spoonful Of Darkness
04. See You Tomorrow
05. The Sceptre
06. Hand Of Hell
07. The Silence
08. The God Particle

The official lyric video for the song “A Spoonful Of Darkness”, taken from “The Doomsday Kingdom”, can be seen below.

Commented Edling: “I wrote ‘A Spoonful Of Darkness’ in Miami in May 2014. Me and my wife went there to get married and I was laying by the pool, sipping some drinks and I got this idea in my head for a song. This idea was spinning in my head and drove me totally crazy… it was the chords to ‘A Spoonful Of Darkness’! And by the time I got home, I had already finished it in my mind…”

“I’m extremely happy that THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM album is finally finished and ready to be released!”, added Leif. “It’s been a long windy road, to say the least, and many things and circumstances have been leading up to it. It is an album that I’m extremely proud of, from the cover artwork to the songs and sound. One of the best things I’ve done in my life!”

THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM‘s debut EP, “Never Machine”, was released in November via Nuclear Blast.

Edling stated about THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM: “THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM was created two years ago. I was in pretty bad shape. I couldn’t go out, I couldn’t work, I wasn’t allowed to read, I couldn’t watch telly and I wasn’t allowed to work in front of the computer, so all I had was the music. And I created THE DOOMSDAY KINGDOM, metal from the catacombs.”


Niklas Stålvind – vocals
Marcus Jidell – guitars
Leif Edling – bass
Andreas (Habo) Johansson – drums