ARJEN LUCASSEN On Upcoming Acoustic Performances For THE GENTLE STORM Debut - "It's Been A Long Time Since This Recluse Played Live"

Arjen Lucassen (Ayreon, Star One, Guilt Machine) and Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gathering, Devin Townsend Project) have joined forces for new band, The Gentle Storm. The duo kick-off a string of acoustic shows for Europe tomorrow (February 17th). Lucassen has checked in with the following update:

“It’s really happening. Anneke and I are leaving for the acoustic tour tomorrow, exciting! So sorry if we don’t play near you, but looking forward to seeing all of you who can come! Quite nervous as well though; it’s been a long time since this recluse played live.”

Tour dates are as follows:

17 – Budapest, Hungary – Planetarium
18 – Istanbul, Turkey – Bronx
19 – Bucharest, Romania – Hard Rock Café
20 – Sofia, Bulgaria – Modern Theatre
21 – Rome, Italy – Traffic Club
22 – Berlin, Germany – K17
23 – Helsinki, Finland – Nosturi
25 – Milano, Italy – Lo-fi
26 – Bologna, Italy – Locomotiv
27 – Warsaw, Poland – Hybryd
28 – Poznan, Poland – Pod Minoga

Confirmed full band dates are currently as follows:

26 – Melkweg – Amsterdam, The Netherlands
28 – Rock Itervoort Festival – Itervoort, The Netherlands

3 – Hedon – Zwolle, The Netherlands
4 – Paaspop – Schijndel, The Netherlands
11 – Paard van Troje – Den Haag, The Netherlands
22 – Divan du Monde – Paris, France
23 – The Garage – London, UK
24 – The Musician – Leicester, UK
25 – The Roadhouse – Manchester, UK
26 – Prog-Resiste Convention – Soignies, Belgium

The Gentle Storm’s album concept for The Diary is a tale of love, loss, and separation told through the story of two fictional seventeenth-century lovers. A Dutch sailor embarks on a two-year voyage, leaving his wife at home in Holland.

The only way for the couple to communicate and keep their love alive during the long separation is through letters. These letters form the basis for the songs on the album.

“Endless Sea” (Storm Version) lyric video:

“Endless Sea” (Gentle Version):